

## Partial Minutes - Reports included separately

Held on Saturday, 10 September 2022,10am online via Zoom

The meeting started at 10:04am

## Present:

The following members were present:

Camille Lapierre, Fred Wang, Marion Gevers, Mohammad Reza Shariflou, Lai On Ann Leung, Rosario Lazaro Igoa, Mehdi Kiani, Bill Gonopoulos, Amale Hourani, Kamal Gendi, Anne Marie Chlala, Danny Kim, Majida Toma, Huanqiu Li, Peter Zauner, Tomoyo Philips, Esther Khadaro, Angelo Berbotto, Yveline Piller, Sandra Hale, Madhu Agarwal, Avril Janks, Thanh Thuy Pham, Nadia Arrage, Noriko Jay, Ysolda Eckhardt, Brandon Bang Pham, Lorely Aponte Ortiz, Silvia Martinez, Ivy Lo, Adnan El Jamil, Khin Win, Masayo Goto, Lynn Hahn, Belinda Qin, Yi Meng Zheng, Katarina Steiner, Ching Yi Huang, Tammy Yan, Yi Zhu, Amal Taki, Elizabeth Losurdo, Lene Skaug, Zhuangqi Li, Veronica Sandra Spagna Gil, Chirata Deneve Thomsen, Venkateswara Chekkala, Sebastian Clevy, Els Groenewegen, Helen Yu Gao, Diana Lee, Maria Stephanou, Amy Wang, Jia Lin Eng, Julieri De Florio, Ioanna Trimmis, Naomi Roulston, Yaze Zhu, Heung Lynn, Maria Mercedes Molinari, Hania Geras, Sydney Ye

## Apologies:

Cintia Lee, Rebeca Paredes Nieto

- 1. The Branch Chair, Camille Lapierre, welcomed everyone to the meeting. Camille acknowledged that we are conducting this meeting on Aboriginal lands; We recognise the elders past, present, and emerging and acknowledge that sovereignty was never ceded; This always was and will be Aboriginal land.
- 2. Camille acknowledged recent developing news, such as the passing of Queen Elizabeth II, news on interpreters in Afghanistan, and the visibility of AUSLAN interpreters.
- 3. Camille presented the 2022 Student Excellence Awards and encouraged awards recipients to join the Committee to contribute to AUSIT NSW and to develop their career.
- 4. Camille presented this year's Chair report and encouraged interested members to join the Committee and contribute to the organisation of future social and professional development events.

- 5. AUSIT NSW AGM 2021 Minutes approval moved by Marion Gevers, seconded by Sydney Ye.
- 6. Mohammad Reza Shariflou presented this year's membership report. Camille presented the current composition of the AUSIT NSW Committee. Rosario Lazaro Igoa presented this year's PD report.
- 7. Camille thanked the Committee members for the preparation of the reports and their tireless efforts over the year.
- 8. Camille encouraged members to join the Organising Committee of next year's National Conference that the NSW Branch is due to host.
- 9. The previous Branch Committee stood down and Amale Hourani was introduced to preside over the election of the new Committee.
- 10. Amale read out each of the nominations, and asked the members present to indicate by chat or verbally if they were objections to the nominations.
- 11.All 12 nominations were approved as follows: Camille Lapierre, Fred Wang, Mohammad Reza Shariflou, Marion Gevers, Cintia Lee, Rosario Lazaro Igoa, Rebeca Paredes Nieto, Bill Gonopoulos, Silvia Martinez, Sydney Ye, Hania Geras, Emily Wright.

Chair	Camille Lapierre
Secretary	N/A
Membership Officer	Mohammad Reza Shariflou
PD Coordinator	Rebeca Paredes Nieto, Cintia Lee, Rosario Lazaro Igoa
Branch Delegate	Bill Gonopoulos
Deputy Branch Delegate	N/A
Committee member	Marion Gevers, Sydney Ye, Fred Wang, Silvia Martinez, Hania Geras, Emily Wright

12. Camille thanked Amale for hosting the election process, thanked Bill for volunteering to the role of Branch Delegate and welcomed Silvia to the Committee. Camille thanked all those present for their attendance and closed the meeting at 10:56am.